The USB ID Repository
If you want to edit something or to receive notifications about changes, you need an account. It is however not needed for simple browsing of the list.
The account is identified by your email address and a password. If you want, you can provide a login name and a xmpp address as well.
Email and xmpp addresses will be used to send notifications about changes to you (if you request them). An email address can be also used to reset your password, in case you forget it. Neither your email nor your xmpp address will be shown to anybody but you and the admins.
The login name is used for your convenience during login (you can log in by either your email or your login name) and it is also publicly shown in the discussion items you wrote.
It is quite possible that your account has been already created. This happens if you have submitted an entry using the email robot, or if you have used the address in the previous incarnation of this web interface. In that case, you need to reset your password, because the account does not have a password yet.
If you do not have an account, click on register item in the menu (you can find it when you visit the Log in page) and fill in your email address. A message containing a confirmation link will be sent to you. After you follow the link and fill in some more information, your account will be ready for use.
If your account was created automatically or you forget your password, you need to reset it. Enter your email address into the reset password page. A message with a confirmation link will be sent to you. When you follow it, you will be provided with a form where you can change the password.
When you want to edit any entries in the lists or to alter your personal settings, you need to be logged in. Fill in the form on the log in page. You can provide either your email address or your login name, they both work.
After a successful login, you will be redirected either to ID browsing or to the action you tried to perform which required login.
You can log out again by log out menu item. You will be logged out automatically after approximately 30 minutes of inactivity or when you close your browser.
Some accounts are gifted with extra powers that are not available to ordinary users. These include deleting items from the discussion, approving entries and other administrative actions. If you have one, you probably know it already. If you think you should have one, contact the maintainers of this site.